Guardian Open Platform vs Currents API: full comparison for 2026
Quick verdict
Guardian Open Platform (3.8/5) edges ahead of Currents API (3.4/5) overall. Guardian Open Platform is the better choice for Students, researchers and non-commercial apps. Currents API is the stronger option for students and hobbyists testing news features for free. The right pick depends on your budget, how much history you need and whether you need full text.
Guardian Open Platform vs Currents API: head-to-head summary
| Criterion | Guardian Open Platform | Currents API |
|---|---|---|
| Founded | 1821 | 2018 |
| HQ | London, UK | Not publicly disclosed |
| Team size | 1,000+ (Guardian Media Group) | Not publicly disclosed |
| Rating | 3.8 / 5 | 3.4 / 5 |
| Primary differentiator | Free full article text with editorial tags from a major publisher | A free tier that developer roundups often single out as generous |
| Pricing model | Free developer key; commercial licence on request | Free tier; monthly plans |
| Entry price | Free | $69/mo (third-party listing) |
| Formats & SDKs | REST API, JSON | REST API, JSON |
| Typical uses | Research & academia, News & content apps, AI & LLM apps | News & content apps, Research & academia |
Guardian Open Platform vs Currents API: overview
Guardian Open Platform
The Guardian's Open Platform gives developers the same content API that runs the Guardian's own sites, with full article bodies, tags and sections going back to 1999. A free developer key is commonly reported at about 5,000 calls a day and 12 calls a second, and it is meant for non-commercial projects. Commercial use needs a separate agreement with Guardian News & Media. Clean, consistent tagging has made it a favourite for teaching and research, though you only ever get one publisher.
Currents API
Currents API has been running since about 2018 and offers latest-news and search endpoints with language, region and category filters. Developer roundups often recommend its free tier, but the quoted limit swings between 600 requests a day, 600 a month and 250 a day, and the free plan covers latest news only, with no historical search. One report lists paid plans from $69 a month for 75,000 requests (independently unverifiable). The operator, location and team are not stated anywhere public.
Features: Guardian Open Platform vs Currents API
| Capability | Guardian Open Platform | Currents API |
|---|---|---|
| Full article text | ✓ | ✗ |
| Historical archive | ✓ | ✗ |
| NLP enrichment | ✗ | ✗ |
| Story/event clustering | ✗ | ✗ |
| Licensed publisher content | ✗ | ✗ |
| Streaming or webhooks | ✗ | ✗ |
| Free access | ✓ | ✓ |
Formats and SDKs: Guardian Open Platform vs Currents API
| Format / SDK | Guardian Open Platform | Currents API |
|---|---|---|
| REST API | ✓ | ✓ |
| Python SDK | N/A | N/A |
| Node.js SDK | N/A | N/A |
| Webhooks | N/A | N/A |
| WebSocket | N/A | N/A |
| MCP server | N/A | N/A |
| S3/bulk delivery | N/A | N/A |
| BigQuery | N/A | N/A |
Pricing comparison: Guardian Open Platform vs Currents API
| Criterion | Guardian Open Platform | Currents API |
|---|---|---|
| Entry price | Free | $69/mo (third-party listing) |
| Pricing model | Free developer key; commercial licence on request | Free tier; monthly plans |
| Access models | Free tier, Enterprise contract | Free tier, Monthly plans |
| Price transparency | Public price | Public price |
| Price tier | Free | Budget |
Who each API suits: Guardian Open Platform vs Currents API
| Dimension | Guardian Open Platform | Currents API |
|---|---|---|
| Buyer type | Individuals to enterprise | Individuals to enterprise |
| Typical uses | Research & academia, News & content apps, AI & LLM apps | News & content apps, Research & academia |
| Example use cases | Teaching data journalism or NLP with real articles. Research on UK and international coverage over time. | Coursework and hackathons. Prototype news feeds. |
| How you get access | Free tier | Free tier |
Guardian Open Platform vs Currents API: pros and cons
| Guardian Open Platform | |
|---|---|
| + | Full article bodies at no cost, which is unusual for a major newspaper |
| + | Consistent tags and sections make filtering easy |
| + | An archive going back to 1999 |
| + | A stable, well-documented API that the Guardian uses itself |
| - | Single publisher, so coverage reflects one editorial line |
| - | Commercial use requires negotiating a licence |
| Currents API | |
|---|---|
| + | The free tier is easy to get and well covered in tutorials |
| + | Simple endpoints for latest news and search |
| + | Several languages and regions |
| - | Published limits conflict between sources |
| - | The free plan has no historical search and bars commercial use |
| - | No identifiable operator or support commitments |
Who should choose Guardian Open Platform?
A typical fit: teaching data journalism or NLP with real articles.
Free full article text with editorial tags from a major publisher. Paid access starts at Free. Typical uses: Research & academia, News & content apps, AI & LLM apps.
Who should choose Currents API?
A typical fit: coursework and hackathons.
A free tier that developer roundups often single out as generous. Paid access starts at $69/mo (third-party listing). Typical uses: News & content apps, Research & academia.
Decision matrix: Guardian Open Platform vs Currents API
| Your situation | Recommended choice |
|---|---|
| You want to start free before paying | Both |
| Your budget is at the lower end | Guardian Open Platform |
| You need full article text in the response | Guardian Open Platform |
| You need years of historical news | Guardian Open Platform |
| You need licensed premium or wire content | Neither; look at Factiva, AP or LexisNexis |
| You are wiring news into an LLM agent | Both work through plain REST calls |
Use case fit: Guardian Open Platform vs Currents API
| Use case | Guardian Open Platform fit | Currents API fit | Winner |
|---|---|---|---|
| Research & academia | Strong | Strong | Both equally |
| News & content apps | Strong | Strong | Both equally |
| AI & LLM apps | Strong | Limited | Guardian Open Platform |
Verdict: Guardian Open Platform vs Currents API
Guardian Open Platform (3.8/5) is the stronger overall choice as a news data source. Free full article text with editorial tags from a major publisher.
Currents API (3.4/5) is worth a look if you need prototype news feeds. If your situation matches that, Currents API is a competitive option.
Related comparisons
Guardian Open Platform vs Currents API FAQ
Is Guardian Open Platform better than Currents API?
Guardian Open Platform (3.8/5) scores higher overall, but "better" depends on your use case. Guardian Open Platform's strongest advantage: full article bodies at no cost, which is unusual for a major newspaper. Currents API's strongest advantage: the free tier is easy to get and well covered in tutorials.
How do Guardian Open Platform and Currents API differ in pricing?
Guardian Open Platform: free developer key; commercial licence on request, with paid access from Free. Currents API: free tier; monthly plans, with paid access from $69/mo (third-party listing). Both offer some free access for testing.
Which is better for enterprise: Guardian Open Platform or Currents API?
Guardian Open Platform sells enterprise contracts with negotiated volume and SLA terms. Neither carries licensed publisher content, so check copyright terms before republishing anything.
What are the main differences between Guardian Open Platform and Currents API?
What sets Guardian Open Platform apart: free full article text with editorial tags from a major publisher. What sets Currents API apart: a free tier that developer roundups often single out as generous. They also differ on entry price (Free vs $69/mo (third-party listing)) and typical uses (Research & academia, News & content apps vs News & content apps, Research & academia).
Verify all details directly with each API before making a decision.